How to fix a noisy dryer

Worn Drum Rollers If your clothes dryer is incredibly noisy whenever you use it, it might be time to look at a few parts. Here are some of the noises that your dryer might be making and the parts that might be causing them.

Scraping metallic sound: drum glides or slides

The drum glides and slides provide support and a smooth surface for the dryer drum to rotate on during operation. When the drumglides wear down from use, there might be a scraping, metal on metal sound produced. Replacing the drum glides will solve this problem.

Rumbling or thumping sound: worn drum rollers
Drum support rollers support the dryer drum as it spins. Over time, the rollers wear down and the shape of the rollers change and become elongated, forcing the drum to spin up and down on the non-round wheel surfaces. Drum rollers come as a set and both should be replaced.

worn Idler Pulley Wheel  6-3700340

Squeaking or squealing noise: Belt or Idler Pulley

Dryer belts can become worn and brittle from age and use. Worn belts should be replaced. Also inspect the idler pulley, which provides tension on the drum belt. The idler pulley should be able to spin freely on the shaft. Sometimes lint and hair can build up around it, causing it to squeak. The part can also become worn from use and should be replaced.

Other parts to check out that might be causing noises include the blower wheel, drum bearings, dryer motor and fan assembly.

Find clothes dryer parts, including belts, drum glides, drum rollers, idler pulleys and more at www.EveryAppliancePart.com.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “How to fix a noisy dryer

  1. Katie Jones June 11, 2015 at 12:01 pm Reply

    Thank you for this information. My dryer has been thumping like crazy. Now that I know about the drum roller, I will have to look at it at after work. Now I need to figure out why my washing machine sometimes moves violently and other times it is calm. All these appliances in my home need so repairs and some TLC.

  2. Deanna R. Jones June 16, 2015 at 7:12 pm Reply

    I appreciate the tips to fix scraping metallic noises coming from my dryer. It didn’t occur to me that those noises might be caused by the drum glides and slides. Replacing the drum glides seems like a good way to resolve the metal on metal scraping noise. I’ll remember to get new drum glides soon to eliminate the noise. Thanks for the tips!

  3. Rupert Silva June 22, 2015 at 10:20 pm Reply

    Very helpful! Your instructions were clear and easy to understand. I’ve never attempted to fix a dryer on my own so I was a bit reluctant. I’m thrilled that I not only have a dryer that doesn’t squeak anymore but I was also spared a costly service call!

  4. Wally West June 24, 2015 at 12:31 pm Reply

    This is very helpful information, because my dryer is having some metal scraping noises. I don’t really want to replace our machine, so hopefully we will be able to get someone to come out to the house and take a look at it. I have been trying to fix it myself, but I don’t really know what I am doing. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Steve Brown August 11, 2015 at 3:34 pm Reply

    I have a friend who’s been in the appliance business for many years. He taught me a little trick for diagnosing dryers. If you press the start button quickly and the dryer turns on and off quickly as well, this means the motor is starting to go. The dryer may continue to work a little longer, but repairs may be needed soon. This little fact has helped me pick a winner quite a few times at used appliance stores.

  6. raylinsutter September 4, 2015 at 9:05 am Reply

    There is nothing that I despise more than a noisy dryer. Recently, mine was acting up and I had to have a dryer vent repair as well as a couple other parts replaced. That quieted things down a bit. I really enjoy my peace and quiet. However, whenever I open the door to my dryer it screeches. Maybe it’s because it’s getting older but do you have a solution to that as well? http://ventandductsolutions.com/about_us.html

  7. Olivia Sherwin October 12, 2015 at 5:56 pm Reply

    This is some great information, and I appreciate your point that squeaking noises coming from your dryer could be due to a worn belt. Mine recently started squealing during the drying cycle, and I’ve been wondering what is causing it. The dryer’s pretty old, so I’ll definitely look into getting a replacement belt for it. Thanks for the great post!

  8. Victoria Runda October 14, 2015 at 8:00 pm Reply

    Thanks for the detailed instructions on how to fix a dryer. Mine has been having issues of late and will probably die shortly. With any luck I’ll be able to fix it by following your instructions.

Leave a Reply

