Burgers Without the Guilt!

 

My boyfriend and I love hamburgers; I could eat them once a week. But of course I don’t! That would be so bad for my health; just thinking about how bad that is for me, makes me a little sick.  But there are healthy substitutions to my beloved hamburger. I can choose to make chicken, veggie, and my favorite… turkey burgers! And that is just what I do, I try to make these substitutes when I am craving a burger but just recently had one, and my boyfriend loves the turkey burgers so it becomes a win, win situation!

My favorite turkey burger that I just recently made was a jalapeño cheddar burger, and then I also made a gyro style burger which was so mouthwatering! Both of these burgers are so simple to make and take just a few ingredients which is even better! Now because there is only my boyfriend and I, we use a ½ pound of ground turkey and still have leftovers. Usually I’ll make the full pound and freeze the patties to use for a later use.

Turkey Burger

 

Here is what you need: (the amounts will change according to how many people you are feeding)

  • 1 Pound of ground turkey
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Onion, any kind you prefer- I just use onion powder
  • 1 egg
  • Bread crumbs

Now here is where you mix everything together, I usually eye everything I need I never use exact measurements. After all those ingredients are mixed together spilt the meat in half and put the other half into a different bowl.

For the jalapeno cheddar burgers:

  • 1 Jalapeno chopped finely
  • Shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Take the half pound of turkey burgers and add in the cheese and peppers. Combine them in well with the mixture. After you have everything mixed in, take small handfuls and make patties as big or small as you prefer.

For the Gyro style burgers:

  • Feta Cheese
  • Tzatziki sauce

For this you will just use the plain burger mixture you made.  Form the meat into the size patties you want.

Cooking for both Burgers:

After you have formed the patties, spray a skillet or grill with non-stick cooking spray.  Place patties on the skillet, cook until there is no pink on the inside. Be sure to flip the burger, and keep on a medium to low heat to prevent burning.

When the burgers finish cooking place them on your favorite bun and top with what you please. For the gyro style burgers place the feta cheese and the sauce on top of the burger; then place on a bun and enjoy!  Try out these healthy burgers this weekend for a little something different in the burger world!

 

Leave a Reply

