Slimming Down for Spring!

Well it is supposed to be spring, but as I look out my window this morning I see nothing but snow!  I love snow, but only for a day… on Christmas… then it can stop.  I love spring, the flowers in bloom, the colors coming back instead of seeing the dreary snow and gloom.  But alas, it is still snowing.  With winter over and spring and summer weather coming it is time for me to make a change, it is time for cleaning, fixing things around the house, and of course loosing that weight for summer.  I am going to start by making small changes, starting with variations of my favorite foods!

I love egg salad, but I never knew how many calories where in just ONE sandwich, almost 400! YIKES! Now eggs are great for you, but the mayonnaise you put on them is not.  So while clicking my way through Pinterest I found a recipe for avocado egg salad.  I love avocado and egg salad so I thought I would give it a shot.  It was great! It satisfied my taste buds while helping to keep me full without all the un-needed condiments.

The ingredients you will need:

  • 4 large hard-boiled eggs, chopped
  • 4 hard-boiled egg WHITES, Chopped (throw away the yolks.)
  • 1 medium sized avocado, cut up into pieces
  • 2 Tbsp. fat free Greek yogurt
  • ½ Tbsp. finely chopped chives (optional)
  • 2 teaspoons of red wine vinegar
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch of pepper
  • Pinch of garlic powder

What you need to do next:

Combine the egg yolks with the avocado, yogurt, chives, vinegar, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  Mash all of these ingredients, and then mix until the mixture is smooth and creamy.  When the mixture is ready combine in the egg whites, and fold them in gently.  Add salt and pepper to taste!  I used leaves of lettuce to make wraps, but feel free to use whole grain bread or whatever you want! If you are going to store this make sure you keep it in an air tight container, and the place it in the fridge.

Image

While you are in you fridge putting away your left overs, why not check to make sure everything is running ok?  Check to see if the light bulb is working, the door seal is placed properly and not falling off, bins are securely in places, and that the shelves are intact.  These small checks on your refrigerator can help it work for years!

Hopefully spring will be here soon, and there will be more healthy variations of great foods! Have a great weekend and come back Monday for updates on appliance parts!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

