Sour Laundry!

   Image

      Have you noticed that your clothes have been smelling a bit sour even after you wash and dry them? I have recently encountered the same problem, I would wash and dry my clothes and when I took them out they did not smell clean at all, they had a foul sour odor to them. So I would go through the process of re-washing them, hoping that would help to take the smell out. But after re-washing I would be defeated and the clothes still had that same odor. I had no idea why, so I did what any person would do, I went online and used Google. I read a few forums, blogs, and yahoo! Answers, some of these answers said I need to just buy a new washer or dryer! I thought to myself, “That is crazy there has to be another answer, my washer and dryer are brand new!” So I moved along from that answer and kept up my search.

     In almost every blog or appliance forum I read, “try cleaning the washer.” I always just thought my washer got cleaned while I was washing my clothes. To my surprise I was extremely wrong! You have to clean your washer at least 2-4 times a year to prevent the build up of mold, mildew, and soap scum. These are all the culprits causing my clothes to smell sour. So I tried what one article said and just put some bleach in the washer with hot water and let it run through a cycle. This sadly did not work, the clothes still smelled. So I went back online and searched for a different way to clean my washer. I finally found my answer on Pinterest there was a link to an article on “How to clean your top loading washing machine”. After reading this article I gave it a try, and it worked! Let me tell you, I was ecstatic my clothes smelled great again and my washer has never looked better!

     The instructions in the article are very easy, and have amazing results!

Step one: Fill your top loading washing machine with HOT water and add one quart of bleach.

Step two: After the bleach is added to the hot water, let the washer agitate for one minute or so ( I let it agitate for about three minutes).

Step three: Then after you let it agitate let the water and bleach combination site for one hour, NO AGITATION just let it SIT!

Step four: After the one hour is up let the washer run through its longest spin cycle.

Step five: When the cycle is complete immediately re-fill the washer with HOT water again and add one quart of distilled white vinegar.

Step six: (repeat step two) Let vinegar and hot water combination agitate for one minute or so.

Step seven: (repeat step three) Let combination sit for one hour.

Step eight: While the solution of vinegar and water is sitting take a sponge or a cloth and clean the rest of the washer. This includes the lid, knobs, exterior, bleach dispenser, fabric softener dispenser, everything!

Step nine: When the hour is up run the washer again on the longest spin cycle.

     After the washer is done with the last longest spin cycle you are done cleaning! It is that simple and the washer is removed of any odor causing bacteria and the washer looks amazing! After I finished this cleaning my clothes smelled great again! Happy cleaning everyone!

Found cleaning instructions at:

http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2012/04/how-to-clean-your-top-loader-washing.html

Written by:

Arielle Bertozzi

07/09/2012

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

